Kindness Made Simple

What does it take to be kind? Do you earn it like a merit badge in scouts, or is it a title awarded when you perform some amazing act?  As humans we tend to complicate things. At least I do. I could complicate drinking a glass of  orange juice, which I did once by aspirating it and knocking myself unconscious while still on my feet, but that’s another story for another day and I digress. Recently There was a story on the NBC Nightly News with Brian Williams about a charity in Trenton New Jersey called One Simple Wish, which assists children in the foster care system. Now One Simple Wish is close to my heart for a couple of reasons:

1) My wife’s cousin Danielle Gletow started this charity and she’s an angel. I’d call her an angel if I only learned of her through the NBC Story, but I do know her, and she really is one. She doesn’t just talk about helping kids in foster care, she walks the walk too. She embodies Ghandi’s quote about “being the change you wish to see in the world”.

2) One Simple Wish is a charity where you help directly grant wishes submitted by children in foster care and here’s the best part, Kids in foster care don’t really ask for grandiose things. In fact most of what they ask for can be accomplished for fifty dollars or less.

The important thing about what One Simple Wish does is, they make giving easy and they don’t try to change the world with one big play like its a karmic football game, they ask you to assist with the little things, book bags, movie tickets,  possibly working appliances for families in need, and the key piece here is the cumulative effect of creating long and lasting positive changes in children’s lives. Who knows what those children will accomplish because they had a new backpack to carry their books to school with, or saw a movie, which inspired them to follow a dream and become a scientist or an artist. They may not accomplish anything more than being hard working, solid citizens who look out for their neighbors and communities, but wouldn’t that all be worth granting one simple wish?

So when you think about how you should begin to be kind, don’t worry about the “Hail Mary” pass to rescue a whole city. Keep it simple and help one child at a time, one act at a time, and let your kindness fall like rain, growing more kindness in people receptive to it, who will pass it on in greater amounts than you ever thought possible, all from One Simple Wish.

I would encourage all of you to check out the  One Simple Wish Website and get involved at http://www.onesimplewish.org or check out organizations in your community that turn small acts into long term results.

Be Kind – Sean

 

About Sean

I'm passionate about the subject of Kindness and how it can help heal the world. I hope we get some good exchanges here. Feel free to agree, disagree, or call me an idiot if you wish. The only thing I ask is have a coherent thought beyond the name calling.

Leave a comment